Friday, August 2, 2013

Sarawak's 3rd Series of Stamps 1875

Continuing on the Sarawak stamps. This set is the third series of stamps that Sarawak issued. These were issued in 1875, a full 20 years before Brunei's first issuance in 1895.

The first two series were single issues but this issue was multiple calues of 2c, 4c, 6c, 8c and 12c. This set complements the second series of 3c which was issued four years earlier in 1871. According to some catalogues, the second series 3c were also overprinted 2c, so there were some need for smaller value stamps before this series was produced. This series was in use for around 13 years before a fourth series was issued in 1888.

No comments: